
Key Takeaways
- They are not substitutes. Notion is a workspace you build; Motion is an auto-scheduler that rewrites your calendar around your task list. Choosing one “instead of” the other is usually the wrong question.
- Notion has a real free plan; Motion has none. Notion Free gives unlimited blocks solo, 5 MB uploads, 10 guests, 7-day history. Motion sells only a trial that auto-converts to paid.
- Verified September 2026: Notion Plus $10 and Business $20 per member/month (monthly billing). Motion Pro AI $19 and Business AI $29 per seat/month (annual billing).
- Notion AI is no longer a separate add-on. Notion’s help docs place AI on Business and Enterprise, with a limited complimentary allowance on Free and Plus.
- Five-person annual cost: about $600 on Notion Plus, $1,200 on Notion Business, $1,140 on Motion Pro AI. Both together is roughly $1,740 – often the honest answer.
Quick verdict
Choose Notion if your information is scattered and nobody agrees where anything lives. Cheapest credible fix, and the free plan proves it before you pay.
Choose Motion if you know exactly what to do and never get to it. Its auto-scheduler is the only feature here that decides for you.
Choose both if you have documentation debt and a calendar problem. They overlap by maybe 20%, and the overlap is the cheap part.
Best free option: Notion. Motion doesn’t offer one.
Full comparison (pricing verified September 2026)
| Notion | Motion | |
|---|---|---|
| Core idea | Modular workspace: docs, wikis, databases you assemble | AI calendar that auto-schedules tasks into open time |
| Best for | Teams who need one source of truth | Individuals and teams drowning in commitments |
| Free plan | Yes – unlimited blocks solo, 5 MB uploads, 10 guests, 7-day history | No free plan |
| Free trial | Not advertised for paid plans | Yes; length not stated on the pricing page. Terms use “a 7-day trial” as the example and auto-bill on expiry |
| Entry paid price | $10 / member / month (Plus, monthly billing) | $19 / seat / month (Pro AI, annual billing) |
| Team/business tier | $20 / member / month (Business, monthly billing) | $29 / seat / month (Business AI, annual billing) |
| Annual discount | “Save up to 20% with yearly”; per-seat yearly figure not shown | “Pay annually (Save 33%)” |
| AI packaging | Included on Business and Enterprise; limited complimentary allowance on Free and Plus | Included in every paid plan; the product is the AI |
| AI usage limits | Credits add-on for Business/Enterprise: $10 per 1,000 monthly, $13 per 1,000 annual | 7,500 credits/seat/mo (Pro), 15,000 (Business). Overage 25¢/100 and 19¢/100 |
| Auto-scheduling | No | Yes – the defining feature |
| Databases & wikis | Yes, deep | Basic docs, wiki and notes |
| Enterprise tier | Yes, custom pricing | Not listed on the public pricing page |
| G2 rating | 4.6 / 5 (13,851 reviews) | 4.1 / 5 (157 reviews) |
| Minimum seats | Not specified in Notion’s billing docs | Not specified on the pricing page |
How we evaluated
No invented stopwatch numbers. Four source types, checked September 2026:
- Vendor pricing pages. Every dollar figure was read off notion.com/pricing and usemotion.com/pricing this month. Where a vendor doesn’t publish a number – Motion’s monthly-billed rate, Notion’s per-seat yearly rate – we say so rather than fill the gap.
- Vendor help docs and terms, for Notion’s AI packaging and credit pricing and Motion’s trial mechanics.
- Review platforms, for G2 rating counts and recurring themes rather than anecdotes.
- Public user discussion, read for repeated complaints rather than quotable lines.
We scored five things: honest cost at 1 and 5 seats, what the free tier permits, whether the headline AI is bundled or metered, time-to-usefulness, and behaviour when plans change mid-week. Marks come off for a paywalled core feature, a trial that auto-bills without a published length, or pricing that needs arithmetic the vendor won’t show. Both lost a mark on the last count.
Pricing and what it really costs per year
Most comparisons quote a monthly number and stop. The billing models are shaped differently, so the annual figure is what matters.
Notion, verified on notion.com/pricing. Free $0, Plus $10 per member/month, Business $20 per member/month, Enterprise custom – the figures rendered under its “Pay monthly” toggle. Notion advertises “Save up to 20% with yearly” but doesn’t print the discounted per-seat figure, so we won’t invent one.
Motion, verified on usemotion.com/pricing. Pro AI $19 per seat/month, Business AI $29 per seat/month, both shown with “Pay annually (Save 33%)” preselected. Motion doesn’t render a readable monthly-billed rate, so treat month-to-month as confirm-at-checkout.
The arithmetic below is ours, calculated from those verified per-seat prices:
| Scenario | Notion | Motion |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person, cheapest workable | $0/yr (Free) | $228/yr (Pro AI, annual) |
| 1 person, paid tier | $120/yr (Plus) | $228/yr (Pro AI) |
| 1 person, AI included | $240/yr (Business) | $228/yr (Pro AI) |
| 5 people, entry paid | $600/yr (Plus) | $1,140/yr (Pro AI) |
| 5 people, full-featured | $1,200/yr (Business) | $1,740/yr (Business AI) |
Two things stand out. Notion with AI and Motion cost nearly the same for one person – $240 versus $228 a year. Nobody runs that comparison, and it reframes the choice: not cheap versus expensive, but what the money buys.
Credits are the new variable. Both meter AI and sell overage – Motion at 7,500 credits per seat monthly on Pro AI, Notion at $10 per 1,000 monthly for Business and Enterprise. Heavy AI users won’t pay sticker.
Core features: workspace vs scheduler
Notion gives you blocks, pages and relational databases, with table, board, timeline, calendar and gallery views on top. Nothing is pre-decided, which is both the strength and the weakness: Notion has no opinion about how you should work.
Motion has a very strong opinion. Add a task with a duration, deadline and priority and it drops into the gaps between your meetings. Miss one and everything downstream reshuffles automatically. No amount of Notion database configuration reproduces that loop.
Motion also ships docs, a wiki, capacity planning, dashboards, timelines and time tracking on Business AI – real features, but lighter than Notion’s. Notion has a calendar but cannot decide when you should do something.
AI capability
This is where most articles go stale, so check the dates.
Notion’s packaging changed. Its help centre states Notion AI is available on Business and Enterprise, with Free and Plus getting a limited number of complimentary AI responses to try it. The separate per-seat AI add-on Notion once sold isn’t how it works today. Notion 3.0 brought Agents in September 2025, Custom Agents followed in early 2026, and both run on credits at $10 per 1,000 monthly or $13 per 1,000 annual.
Motion’s AI isn’t an add-on – it’s the reason the product exists. Both paid plans include AI chat, projects and tasks, calendar and meetings, a task planner and a writer. Motion raised a $38M Series C in September 2025 at a reported $550M valuation, pushing toward a bundle of AI agents; credit metering follows from that.
Practical read: Notion’s AI drafts from knowledge you’ve written down. Motion’s AI sequences work you haven’t started.
Ease of use and learning curve
Neither is understandable in ten minutes, but they fail differently.
Notion’s difficulty is open-ended. Its G2 summary lists a steep learning curve as the most-cited complaint, in roughly 1,895 of 13,851 reviews. A team that adopts Notion with nobody owning the structure ends up with the same mess in a nicer font.
Motion’s difficulty is front-loaded. G2 reviewers describe setup as time-intensive and the interface as clunky, and flag the trial as too short to evaluate properly. The specific catch: Motion only works if you enter honest task durations. Underestimate them and the scheduler builds a fantasy day, then apologises for it all week.
Onboarding advantage goes to Notion, mostly because you can fail for free.
Integrations
Notion has the deeper ecosystem by a wide margin: a public API, a large app directory, Slack and GitHub connections, and a huge community template market that acts as an unofficial integration layer.
Motion connects what a scheduler needs – two-way Google Calendar and Outlook sync, Zoom and Meet, Zapier, plus booking pages. That sync is load-bearing and solid. Beyond it, the list is short.
Plan around one asymmetry: Motion doesn’t natively pull tasks out of Notion databases. Teams running both bridge with Zapier or re-enter tasks. It’s a seam, not a merge.
Support and reliability
Notion offers documentation and email support across plans, priority support on higher tiers, dedicated support at Enterprise. The docs are good and the community forum usually beats a ticket.
Motion lists priority support on Business AI. Its terms state purchases are non-refundable and that Motion isn’t obliged to refund payments, though it may at its discretion. Notion’s G2 reviews separately flag billing friction: unexpected charges when members are added, and refund policies users found unfair. Read both policies before committing annually – that matters more for Motion, whose cheaper rate requires it.
Choose Notion if / Choose Motion if
Choose Notion if:
- Your team can’t find things, and that costs more than a disorganised calendar does.
- You want to try before paying – the free plan is a real plan, not a demo.
- You need wikis, linked databases or client-facing pages.
- Someone will own the structure. Notion punishes teams where nobody does.
Choose Motion if:
- You have a clear task list and still end the week with it untouched.
- Meetings fragment your calendar and you want the gaps filled automatically.
- You’ll estimate task durations honestly. Non-negotiable.
- $19–$29 per seat monthly beats the cost of the work you keep dropping.
Use both if you have documentation debt and an execution problem: about $348/yr solo, $1,740/yr for five. Planning in Notion, this week’s execution in Motion. Don’t mirror them.
READ MORE: 10 Best Meeting Scheduling Tools in 2026: Tested & Compared
Buyer’s guide
By goal. Organised on a budget: Notion Free – nothing here competes at $0. Stop missing deadlines: Motion Pro AI. Team knowledge base: Notion Business, the tier where AI search across your content becomes useful. Client projects with capacity planning: Motion Business AI, though Notion Business plus a well-built database gets close for less.
By user type. Student or solo creator: Notion Free; Motion has no free tier. Freelancer with several clients: Motion Pro AI if deadlines are the pain, Notion Plus if deliverable tracking is. 5–20 person startup: Notion Business as the backbone, Motion seats only for genuinely overloaded calendars. Non-technical team: Notion, with a template and a nominated owner – Motion’s setup burden lands on every user, not just the admin.
Five questions before you pay
- Information problem or time problem? Scattered information means Notion. Unstarted work means Motion.
- Will you enter honest task durations daily? If not, Motion’s scheduler won’t work at any price.
- Can you test free first? Notion yes; Motion no, and its trial auto-bills, so set a reminder.
- What’s the annual number? Multiply by seats and twelve: $600 to $1,740 for five people.
- How much AI will you use? Both meter AI in credits with paid overage, so heavy users pay above sticker.
FAQ
Is Motion better than Notion?
Neither is better – they do different jobs. Motion auto-schedules tasks into your calendar; Notion stores and structures information. If you need a second brain, Notion wins. If you need something to decide your day, Motion wins. Many people run both.
Does Motion have a free plan?
No. As of September 2026, Motion’s pricing page lists only paid plans – Pro AI at $19 per seat/month and Business AI at $29 per seat/month on annual billing – plus a free trial. Motion’s terms confirm the trial automatically bills your payment method when it ends unless you cancel first.
How much does Notion cost in 2026?
Notion Free is $0. Plus is $10 per member/month and Business is $20 per member/month on monthly billing, with Enterprise on custom pricing. Notion advertises up to 20% off with yearly billing but doesn’t publish the discounted per-seat figure on the plan card.
Is Notion AI still a paid add-on?
No. Notion’s help documentation now states that Notion AI is available on Business and Enterprise plans, with Free and Plus users getting a limited complimentary allowance to try it. Heavier AI use draws on Notion credits, sold at $10 per 1,000 monthly credits.
Can Notion do auto-scheduling like Motion?
No. Notion can display tasks on a calendar and sort them by date or priority, but it will not assign a task to a specific time block or reshuffle your week when you fall behind. That automatic rescheduling loop is Motion’s core differentiator.
Can you use Notion and Motion together?
Yes, and it’s a common setup. Keep documentation, specs and long-range planning in Notion; keep this week’s executable tasks in Motion. There is no native task sync between the two, so most people bridge them with Zapier or simply re-enter the handful of active tasks.
Which is harder to learn?
Both are demanding, differently. Notion’s steep learning curve is its most-cited G2 complaint, driven by the blank-canvas setup. Motion’s burden is front-loaded configuration plus the daily discipline of estimating task durations accurately, and its reviewers commonly call the trial too short to learn it in.
Final verdict
Best overall for most people: Notion. More common problem, lower cost, and you can prove it works before paying. At $600/yr for five on Plus, the value is hard to argue with.
Best for chronic over-commitment: Motion. If your list is accurate and the week still gets away, Motion is the only tool here that intervenes rather than reports. At $228/yr solo it costs about what Notion Business does and buys something Notion cannot.
Best free: Notion, uncontested.
The least satisfying conclusion is the most useful: if you’re comparing these two, you probably have two problems, and about $348 a year solves both. Check each vendor’s page before buying – both changed AI packaging within the last eighteen months.

